Time MARCHes On

(First of all, check out that title- I’m so punny, I just don’t know how you guys deal with me. Winking smile)

I can’t believe February is over. I can’t believe it’s March. I can’t believe it’s the end of UNCSA Winter Term. This has been a CRAZY month- I spent most of it in a perpetual state of sickness, and I’m probably especially surprised by the shift of time because I’m still trying to catch up with every thing I let fall to the wayside during my time as Winston-Salem’s resident invalid. 1776 closes this weekend, school will be over by the end of next week, and I am in desperate need of Spring Break. However, though I’m excited to see the back side of February, I’m really excited to check in and see how well I did with my February goals.

Here are the goals I set for the month of February:

  • Write at least four blog entries/week.

This was the goal I was most concerned about reaching, and I definitely think I did a great job with it. I wrote 18 blog entries in a 28 day period, not including four new pages (Blog Roll, My Races, Kitchen Staples, and my Recipe Index).

  • Of the four blog entries, write at least one recipe entry and try/blog about at least one new product per week.

Good gravy, I actually did this! I wrote at least one recipe entry and reviewed/talked about a new product every single week.

(By the way, you can check the recipes tab for all my recipes and product reviews can be found on the product reviews tab)

  • Read Oil! by Upton Sinclair

Ok, first failure. Well, is it MY FAULT that the book was already overdue when I made this goal? Is it MY FAULT that the library has now blacklisted me because I ignored their calls regarding said overdue book? Ok, wipe that smirk off your face. Smile

  • Watch 1-2 new movies every week, starting with One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest

Ok, there’s a legitimate reason why this didn’t happen. Since I don’t have cable and I’m REALLY busy, I end up watching all of my favorite TV  shows during the time I might have watched a new movie. So yes, I’m still one of the only people with a film degree who hasn’t seen One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest. However, I think March will be a little less congested and last night I started watching Lenny (starring Dustin Hoffman, the love of my life). Therefore, I have hope for the future.

  • Start water jogging once per week, and continue with the couch to 5k Challenge

While I didn’t get in as much water jogging as I wanted (I only ended up being able to do it once), I’ve kept up with the couch to 5k. Since I do each week twice, this weekend I’m going to begin week 4. And (I hope I don’t regret saying this later) I’m kind of excited about it.

  • Schedule my first 5k of the season- preferably late March or early April

I didn’t just schedule my first- I scheduled four different races for 2011. Check out My Races to see where/when they are. In addition, I’m planning to do the Susan G. Komen Race For The Cure on May 7, and I want to do a race during my spring break.

  • Strength Training 2-3 days/week

Done and done, though I think I need to start varying my training and focusing on specific body areas which will help me when running.

  • Continue the 200 Sit-ups Training Program

Because of my other exercise efforts, I’ve let this goal slide to the back burner. However, the month of March has officially been deemed the month of the sit-up: I’m ready to get back in the groove.

This March, I plan to:

  • Write at least four blog entries/week.
  • Of the four blog entries, write at least one recipe entry and try/blog about at least one new product per week.
  • Do a deep spring cleaning of my apartment, including window washing and oven cleaning. I will also look for new kitchen lighting.*
  • Watch 1 new movie every two weeks.
  • Continue with the couch to 5k Challenge, and water jog AT LEAST once every two weeks
  • Prepare for my first 5k of the season, and possibly walk/run one before the end of the month
  • Strength Training 2-3 days/week
  • Continue the 200 Sit-ups Training Program

It’s really March- What Are Your Goals For The Month?


1 Comment

Filed under goals

One response to “Time MARCHes On

  1. Yeah..i can’t believe that my month, month of my good luck is over..
    But you did some great stuff..see February is fun!!!

Leave a Reply

