Tummy Rumblings

Ok, somehow my karma is off. It must be. I must have done something truly awful within the last month and now I am having epic karmic payback. Because WHO THE HELL GETS FOOD POISONING AND A SEVERE COLD IN THE SAME TWO WEEK SPAN?

I will spare you all the gory details of my epic vomit free-for-all last night, but just know that I would not wish what happened to me on my worst enemy.

I’ve reached the point where I hate missing class. I feel like I’m ten steps behind everyone else. All I need at this point is for a bottle of flat ginger ale to appear in my bedroom. I could also use a hug.

So..probably one of the worst Valentine’s Days ever?

On the bright side (as dim as it may be), at least typing doesn’t require moving my mouth. Even if it does require sitting upright. Maybe I should move horizontally.

Ok, much better. Actually, it’s not that much better. Anyway, though I’m feeling a little too ill to right write, I wanted to post a couple of quick snacks and meals that I throw together when I’m on the run. I’ve had several people ask me what I eat on a typical day. I don’t post about my ‘typical’ on the go meals because they tend to be pretty simple and similar to one another. However, I’ve come up with some really helpful ways to get protein, dairy, fruit, and carbs into my body even when I’m in a hurry.

2142011 008

I eat a lot of fruit. I also eat a lot of Greek yogurt. I like to chop up fruit (in this case, kiwi), throw it in  a cup of yogurt (in this case, Chobani Pomegranate), and eat another piece of fruit on the side. Surprisingly, a breakfast like this will tide me over for several hours. And it’s only four wwpoints+. However, if you really want a breakfast like this to sustain you, have this on the side:

2142011 006

It may not look appetizing, but it tastes pretty delicious. This green monster consisted of 1/2 cup Greek Yogurt, two big handfuls of spinach, 2 tsp spirulina, and 1 heaping spoonful of Boku superfood. Oh, and these little babies:

2142011 001

However, since my juicer decided to commit suicide in honor of Jack Lalanne’s death:

juicer R.I.P.

I decided to see how well my new food processor could pulverize fruit.

2142011 0032142011 002

I was very pleased. My Black and Decker FP1600B handled the extra fruit very well. I peeled the orange, sliced the apple, and peeled the kiwi- I didn’t do any extra small chopping or anything like that. I tossed the fruit into the processor with the Greek yogurt and watched it smush the fruit into a creamy yogurt concoction. There were no surprise chunks of fruit- it was perfectly smooth and creamy. To be honest, I’m not quite sure how I feel about using the yogurt in my green monster. I think it makes the liquid a little too thick and rich for my personal taste. In the future, if I need extra liquid, I might use almond milk or water.

222011 031

This is a pretty typical snack for me. I love ritz crackers, but I have to carefully portion them out or else I will have a food black out and eat an entire box. Anyway, usually I count out 10 (four wwpoints+) and eat them with a side of fruit (0 wwpoints+). I like bananas and oranges because they have protective skin which keeps them safe from the other items in my bag. However,

222011 033

This is what happens when you carry two bananas around all day in a bag with a can of Progresso soup. Welcome to mush city.

As much as I’d like to keep writing, I think this weary body needs to curve against my pillows ASAP before I add another disgusting story to my already impressive list of vomit experiences.

Happy Gay Valentine’s Day, y’all.

4 Comments

Filed under food

4 responses to “Tummy Rumblings

  1. This made me laugh! I’m sorry you’ve had a bad couple of weeks. But when you said that your juicer died in honor of Jack’s passing I just about fell over. 🙂

  2. I am sorry that you didn’t feel good, but you also made me laugh so hard… Loving this post!!!

  3. First things first: Oof, you poor thing! Hope you’re feeling better!

    And secondly: Just stop it right now! Your juicer peacing it in Jack’s honor— I spit tea all over my desk I was laughing so hard. Absolutely perfect. You are too funny.

  4. y’all, all I need in this world is for people to think I’m funny when I’m keeling over. In all honesty, that makes everything so much more bearable. ]

    Actually, I thought about making a memorial video to my juicer set to the song “Thank You For Being A Friend”, but then I decided I didn’t feel like reliving all the good times.

    God, I’m weird.

Leave a Reply

