Time Keeps Running: Managing My Way Around The Blogosphere

Time Management. It’s difficult enough for me to find the time to live my regular, non-social media life- home, work, school- just making those three conflicting elements move together harmoniously is like putting together a never-ending 173970170 piece jigsaw puzzle.

However, adding in the instant complication of blogging is enough to give me hours of anxiety. I admit it: I’m terribly paranoid about my blogging abilities. I think it stems from being a self-doubting perfectionist. However, this self-doubting perfectionism causes me to spend over 2 hours writing individual blog entries, and I spend way too much time reading other blogs, commenting on as many entries as possible, and trying to get to know the rest of this ever expanding universe. Yes, it sounds like fun, but I know I’m not the only one who thinks it’s a bit of a headache.

Enter Jennifer of shesafitchick. She wrote an EXCELLENT blog series about how to better time manage your life in and out of the blogging world. I’ve been feeling very inspired by a lot of her ideas, and I decided to take the time to document a full day in my life, divided into 15 minute (or 5 or 30 minute, whatever made the most sense) time increments. This may seem a bit time consuming (therefore counterintuitive), but it took no time at all and when I looked over my day afterward, it really opened my eyes to the way I use time efficiently and inefficiently:

Monday, January 31, 2011

7:45am- Wake-Up

7:45am-8:15am- Check e-mail/ facebook/twitter

8:15am-8:30am- Organizing Backpack

8:30am-8:45am- Organizing Backpack/Getting Dressed for the gym

8:45am-8:55am- getting out the door/driving to the gym

8:55am-10am- GYM

10am-10:15am- Return home from gym

10:15am- 10:40am- Shower

10:40-11am- start breakfast/dry off/put on lotion

11am-12:15pm- eat breakfast/put on lotion/ get dressed

12:15pm-12:30pm- walk to class

12:30pm- 1:50pm- Class

1:50pm-2:15pm- photocopy 1776 script

2:15pm- 2:30pm- walk home

2:30pm-3:15pm- eat lunch/make dinner

3:15pm-3:30pm- go to 1776 rehearsal

3:30pm-11pm- 1776 Rehearsal

11pm-11:15pm- Return home/Put on Pajamas

11:15pm-11:30pm- Check e-mail

11:30pm- Fall in bed

As you can see, a huge portion of my afternoon is currently consumed by rehearsals for a production of 1776 that I’m currently working on. Obviously, the time spent on that particular activity is not negotiable. However, I think it takes me way too long to get dressed and put on lotion- I didn’t really realize I spend so much time pampering myself. I don’t even wear makeup on a regular basis, yet I spend as much time getting ready as someone who wears a full face of makeup. My class schedule definitely varies, and I don’t always have the luxury of walking to class so late in the day. However, the amount of time I spend getting ready doesn’t change in relation to my wakeup time- if I have to be somewhere at 7am, I’ll wake up at 5am so I can do my daily physical prep.

While I’m not quite sure what to do about my pampering schedule, seeing the way I spend my time in a chronological format is oddly comforting. It’s allowed me to really think about things I want to do in a given day, week, or month. For example, I need to pick out the best hour of every day to write a blog. I need to stop feeling pressured to write every single day or more than once per day, but I need to set up a minimum number of weekly entries. Also, I need to figure out ways to fit my cultural enrichment into my schedule (because, while my schedule may seem packed, I waste quite a lot of time watching re-runs of The Office when I should be doing other things.)

Here are some things I hope to change about my schedule within the next three months:

  • Write at least four blog entries/week.
  • Of the four blog entries, write at least one recipe entry and try/blog about at least one new product per week.
  • Read at least one new book per month.
  • Watch 1-2 new movies per week (this may seem ridiculous, but as someone who enjoys the cinema I think it’s very important to continuously enrich my cinematic knowledge. However, I have a bad habit of watching the same movies repeatedly which has resulted in a jam packed netflix queue. If I stopped re-watching so many things and just reminded myself to watch two new things, I could gain knowledge and relieve my bursting netflix queue( s ).

Here are my goals for the month of February:

    • Write at least four blog entries/week.
    • Of the four blog entries, write at least one recipe entry and try/blog about at least one new product per week.
    • Read Oil! by Upton Sinclair
    • Watch 1-2 new movies every week, starting with One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest
    • Start water jogging once per week, and continue with the couch to 5k Challenge
    • Schedule my first 5k of the season- preferably late March or early April
    • Strength Training 2-3 days/week
    • Continue the 200 Sit-ups Training Program

I don’t think these goals are unattainable, but I do think they will require a lot of commitment.

In other news, Danica of Danica’s Daily is giving away a giant box of dark chocolate ice cream miniatures! You can find entry details on her blog– make sure to enter by February 4th!

What are your monthly goals?

4 Comments

Filed under blogging, couch to 5k challenge, goals, time management

4 responses to “Time Keeps Running: Managing My Way Around The Blogosphere

  1. You are so awesome, I am so glad this worked out for you! 🙂 I think your goals are amazing and certainly attainable! Now that you have a good idea of where your time goes, try to sort and batch things together (this will save your some time). For example, if I have down time on the weekend, I will write a few blog posts for the week. Now, regardless of my schedule, I know I will hit my blog post goal! 🙂 Best of luck girlie and if you need anything let me know! 🙂 xoxo

  2. Wow, great links for blogging and time management! I’ve struggled with this over the past year and sometimes you just gotta say, alright, what’s my priority. And sometimes it’s not blogging and that’s okay – especially when it’s going to make you happier, saner and have more FUN. Thanks for the links!

  3. Anna

    You’re so cool.

    BUT I don’t like it when you get me all inspired about getting into a routine and working out and being healthy, and then you end your blog with the mention of an enormous box of chocolate.

    You’re such a tease. 🙂

Leave a Reply

