Jessamyn vs. The Treadmill- Battle Royale

I think I’ve figured out the key to successfully completing the Couch to 5k Running Plan– find a point on the wall, focus on the music pumping in your bizarre ebay earbuds, and DON’T YOU DARE LOOK AWAY FROM THAT SPOT. Since the weather here has been a bit too cold and dreary for a skeptical young runner like myself, I’ve spent the first full week of the Couch to 5k on a treadmill. The treadmill and I have a love/hate relationship.

LOVE:

  • It never stops moving, even when I want to quit and never start again.
  • It allows me to maintain a steady pace.
  • It tracks my distance and heart rate, as well as making the presence of an additional clock unnecessary (More on the terrible horrors of exercise clocks later).
  • It is indoors and, you know, not outdoors in the rain.

HATE:

  • IT NEVER STOPS MOVING, EVEN WHEN I WANT TO QUIT AND  NEVER START AGAIN.

Actually, one of the things that requires some adjustment by me is the need to look at the clock. Typically, when I’m using cardio exercise machinery, I always cover the timer with my towel/sweatshirt. However, because the Couch to 5K program is based upon timed running intervals, I need to keep an eye on the clock. Honestly, I find clocks to be really distracting- they make me very conscious of my activity level and it’s more difficult to lose myself in the exercise. Therefore, I’ve had to come up with a few tricks to not become distracted by the time.

One of my tricks is to focus all of my attention on one particular spot on the wall in front of me. Usually it’s a knick in the bricks. I’ll just train all of my attention on that one spot so I don’t lose my focus. While I’m doing that, I also try to soak myself in whatever song is playing. The best case scenario is that my running and breathing fall in a steady time with the music, and I barely notice what I’m actually doing.

Verdict? Actually, this week did not go so bad. Don’t get me wrong, there were some REALLY unpleasant moments- like when my side started cramping on the first day. But by the end of today’s workout, I felt really good about myself and about my activity level. I didn’t feel like my heart was bursting out of my chest or that my legs were going to fall off –actually, I’ve yet to feel either of those things. Mostly I just feel distracted- feeling distracted leads to feeling “too tired to continue”. But once I catch my focus, there’s no stopping me.

Also, I lost 2.1 lbs at my weigh-in this morning. I feel good about that number, especially because I would like to maintain losses at that rate and I think 2 lbs/week is not setting my sights too high. I am fully aware that some weeks I will lose quite a bit more, and some weeks I’ll lose much less (and some weeks I might gain- blegh), but I’m trying to only focus on the present. And in the present, I feel pretty damn good.

Tonight will be me and Gabriel’s second WW Meeting together- I’m really excited to see him, and hear about his week. Maybe I should get stickers and we can give each other sticker prizes? Or maybe we’re too cool to engage in those reindeer games. Nah, we’re probably not too cool- I’d better stop by Michaels on the way to J-Town. Winking smile

Also, OH MY GOD- Right after I blogged about the awesomeness that is my Jack Lalanne juicer, DISASTER STRUCK!

I am fully convinced that the death of the Jack Lalanne juicer has everything to do with user error. I was in a rush, and put the pieces together incorrectly which resulted in a juicing catastrophe of epic proportions.

Ok, maybe not epic- but there was a very odd smell, a cracked juicer base, and lots of drama to behold. Anyway,

juicer R.I.P.

I will always love you, power juicer. Thank you for being a friend.

Until I can afford to buy a new juicer (or a VITAMIX– fingers crossed), I’m making things work with my pre-power juicer standby, The Juice Man.

juice man juicer

Source

I was lucky enough to find this juicer at a yard sale a couple of years ago, but it’s been stored at the back of my cabinet for quite some time. I love this machine, but do you see that plunger tucked into the chute? Yeah, that’s been missing since the day I bought it. Missing plunger=mangled kitchen spoons doubling as a plastic plunger. Yeah, I need to find a better substitute stat before I run out of makeshift plungers.

However, here’s a picture from my beloved power juicer before it kicked the bucket:

1202011 0211202011 023

It may just seem like the remains of a carrot/orange/pear juice to you- but to me, it’s a beautiful rainbow.

(Ok, I’m starting to sound like a nut job.)

6 Comments

Filed under couch to 5k challenge

6 responses to “Jessamyn vs. The Treadmill- Battle Royale

  1. Mama E

    Jess~ You can contact the manufacturer for a replacement plunger. Or ask for one on freecycle…

    Love you!

  2. Mary (from PAM)

    I can’t handle the tredmill because it hurts my knees… there is also decidedly too much bouncing from the sweater puppies when I run. I am always amazed by those who just bust it out on the tredmill.

    I prefer elliptical machines because it takes the stress off of my knees and I’m a fan of being able to set my own pace. I end up “running” much farther and burning more calories than on a tredmill.

    I’m sorry to hear about your juicer. Do you think it could have been set to self-destruct in the event of Jack Lalanne’s death?

    • I can’t believe how I’ve continued to run on the treadmill, in spite of all my usual mind games- it’s a freaking miracle. I have always believed some people are good at certain exercises and others are not. I think this is a lie- though you’re totally right, the sweater puppies make running way more difficult than necessary. My “sweater pups” are actually fairly small, but that doesn’t stop them from causing mayhem.

      I always start my cardio workouts on the elliptical, another machine I used to hate. Now it gets me really amped up.

      And yes, I think my juicer decided to sacrifice itself in honor of Jack Lalanne’s death. I’d probably think it was noble or symbolic if it wasn’t so freaking inconvenient.

  3. So funny, I just finished a post about juicing (it will be going up this week). Yayy for 2.1lbs, that is so awesome!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

