Product Review: Siggi’s Icelandic Style Skyr Yogurt

I love yogurt. It’s one of the many reasons why I have difficulty commiting to a vegan diet- that, and all the delicious varieties of cheese this world has to offer. However, I don’t like certain kinds of yogurt- in particular, runny, fruit on the bottom varieties. Ok, I’m not going to discriminate against all ‘fruit on the bottom’ yogurts, but c’mon- I know you’ve probably had a bad experience with some 4/$1 brand of runny, low-fat, fruit on the bottom yogurt. If you’re anything like me and could recount pages of bad yogurt adventures, you have probably developed a deep love affair with Greek yogurt.

Greek Flag

+

yogurt

=

jos smiles

So yes, I absolutely love Greek yogurt. Especially Oikos and Fage. But recently I saw a new type of yogurt called Siggi’s Icelandic Style Skyr Yogurt hanging out in my mom’s icebox.

Ok, Icelandic. Things I know about Iceland:

1. Bjork

2. Lesbian Prime Minister

As far as I’m concerned, these two facts alone have given Iceland a fairly high placement on my ‘must visit list’.

But, um, skyr? Can I get some culinary subtitles here? Does that mean the yogurt is especially thin? Is this some sort of Northern European Greek yogurt? WHAT’S THE DEAL?

Skyr, for those of you who don’t know about wikipedia, is apparently a cheese and very popular in Iceland (Captain Obvious). Implication? This must be a thick yogurt in the style of Greek yogurt. Therefore, when Jessamyn sees that Siggi’s yogurt is on sale at Whole Foods Market, she decides that it’s time to try out this new treat.

weekend 1222011 005

weekend 1222011 015

First of all, I need to address the issue of money and price. As I’ve discussed before, I am a textbook cheapskate. I hate spending more money than is absolutely necessary- most of the time, I honestly can’t afford to spend more money than is absolutely necessary. However, I’ve recently come to a crossroad about buying inexpensive foods-

Is it worth it to buy a lot of cheap food that you don’t love to eat, or is it better to buy a smaller amount of high quality food you love to eat?

(Yeah, that’s right- I’m expressing personal relationships with food. Learn to love it, because you ain’t seen nothin’ yet.)

I used to be in the first camp- but I think that if you can afford (financially) to change to the second camp, do so immediately. I have purchased giant 32oz containers of store brand yogurt which get moldy in my fridge because the texture makes me want to vomit- thereby making the ‘money savings’ a waste. I should have just bought the brand I liked and would have consumed. Buy for quality- this is Jessamyn’s official opinion, as of January 23, 2011.

ANYWAY, back to the yogurt at hand. The first thing I noticed about Siggi’s? THIS IS THE THICKEST YOGURT IN HISTORY. In my mind, that makes Siggi’s yogurt a revelation in the world of dairy, and I’m officially saving money for an Icelandic vision quest. Seriously, the yogurt is so creamy and thick that I had difficulty mixing it up with my spoon.

weekend 1222011 017

Check out that (lack of) white balance. Also, welcome to my ridiculously messy bedroom.

The texture is smooth as a baby’s bottom- seriously, I can’t use enough positive  adjectives in regard to the consistency. However, even though the texture is out of this world thick and creamy, the yogurt doesn’t weigh you down. I went to the gym shortly after eating the 6oz container and felt fine.

My only problem with this particular type was the flavor- maybe it’s the kool-aid drinking American in me, but I found the flavor of the vanilla Siggi’s yogurt to be a bit too subtle. It was still delicious, but it was a little too vague for my personal standards. However, because I’m a resourceful Southern girl, I hit it with 1/2 tablespoon of honey- flavor problem solved.

I’m actually kind of upset because my local Whole Foods Market only carries the vanilla Siggi’s- they have several other flavors (GRAPEFRUIT? POMEGRANATE?!) that I’m absolutely dying to try, and I can’t! My feelings are hurt, Siggi– hook a sister up.

Anyway, get thee to your local Whole Foods Market (or Fresh Market. or EarthFare.) and try out Siggi’s Icelandic Skyr. And don’t let the price deter you- the splurge is totally worth it.

4 Comments

Filed under food, grocery shopping, product review

4 responses to “Product Review: Siggi’s Icelandic Style Skyr Yogurt

  1. Pingback: Double Product Review! Chobani Pineapple Yogurt and FlatOut Wraps | One Is The Magic Number

  2. Luca

    have you ever had liberte yogurt? i bought it at a cheese store because it was the only kind they had and was really pleasantly surprised. it’s got fruit on the bottom, but it’s also much thicker and creamier than the usual kind, although it is pretty heavy- more so than fage

    • I LOVE Liberte- it has a fairly high caloric content, but I try to sneak it in when I can. They only sell it at Whole Foods and Deep Roots at Greensboro, so I always make my mom pick some up for me.

      I am so jealous of you and your northeastern cheese shops. 😉

  3. Seven

    Love your post 🙂 I just licked clean my first ever cup of Siggis Skyr — Pomegranate & Passion Fruit – So good! Just wanted to let you know that I bought at my local Sprouts market. Hope you find it and enjoy it soon!

    http://maps.google.com/maps/place?q=sprouts+market&cid=3777774911169356822

Leave a Reply

