Scales, Scales, Scales: A Buyer’s Guide

It took me longer than usual to start this entry for two reasons:

1)      I’m listening to Daft Punk’s Alive 2007 (“Around The World/Harder Better Faster Stronger”, to be more specific), and the beats distracted my flow of thought.*

2)      North Carolina’s Piedmont Triad has been attacked by a snow/ice extravaganza! Being a Southern girl, I’m completely entranced by snow, even though it’s really just very cold rain. However, I actually dreaded this particular storm- the arrival of our third (!!!) notable snow of the season will inevitably delay the release of UNCSA refund checks, and I’m already skating on thin financial ice. Oh, well. At least school was cancelled.

After a lot of research (which also translates to ‘a lot of homework time wasted’), I’ve finally decided which two items I’m going to purchase in order to make my new goals a reality. Obviously, it’s completely unnecessary to go shopping before you start a new plan. However, I’ve been thinking about making these purchases for a really long time, and I think I’ve finally found the right products.

1)      Eat Smart Precision Pro Digital Kitchen Scale

The Eat Smart Precision will not be my first kitchen scale- in fact, the reason I know so much about the function (or rather, malfunction) of kitchen scales has quite a bit to do with this little beauty:

Word to the wise? Don’t buy key kitchen gadgets at Ikea**. Cheap is awesome sometimes- cheap is not awesome when it comes to measurement accuracy. Not to mention that spring scales are (in general) less accurate than digital models. I’ve read dozens of reviews, and the Eat Smart appears to be the best combination of price, accuracy, and efficiency. Also, quite ironically, after I decided to purchase the Eat Smart, I found out that Danica of Danicasdaily uses the exact same scale! She did an awesome product review almost one year ago, and her review definitely helped push me over the edge.

2)      Weight Watchers Memory Glass Electronic Scale

Ok, it’s time for a confession: scales are one of my biggest fears. They rank in my top five, hovering somewhere between heights and massive snakes.  And, not to be presumptuous, but I don’t think I’m alone in this fear. Women (and men) are trained from a young age to put an unnatural amount of stock in the numbers produced by scales. To make matters worse, a person’s weight can vary by several pounds depending on which scale you step on. Needless to say, I’ve had seemingly never-ending hours of anxiety surrounding my personal scale activity. For years, I absolutely refused to purchase a scale- during my previous Weight Watchers stints, I’ve insisted upon only weighing myself at meetings. That being said, I still don’t think it’s a great idea to weigh oneself more than one time per week- weight can fluctuate dramatically during any given week, and I don’t want to subject myself to more emotional trauma than absolutely necessary.

You’re probably wondering why I would purchase a scale if I have so many ridiculous psychological issues with them. Well, for one thing, since I’ll be doing Weight Watchers Online, I need to keep track of my weight loss numbers. Second, all of the psychological issues I’ve listed have made me realize that I’m turning into a TWENTY-THREE YEAR OLD PSYCHOPATH. A person should not be afraid of their own weight- that’s absolutely ridiculous. I need to come to terms with my numerical body weight, and I think purchasing a scale will help expedite this process.

I’ve chosen the Weight Watchers Memory Scale because I want a scale with good memory functions- this model stores the start, last, current, and goal weights for up to four users. It has received great points for weight accuracy, and has an interesting leveling system to make sure you achieve proper balance before taking a weight measurement. However, it costs a little more money than I would typically spend on this sort of item- however, I need to stop being such a cheap ass and start buying higher quality items, instead of cheap items which will break shortly after purchase.

Is My Fear Totally Irrational? What are your Fears Associated with Body Weight?


*Daft Punk’s “Alive 2007” ranks really high on my list of Music For Working Out. Get Familiar.

**I still absolutely love Ikea, even though I found the Ikea Kitchen Scale to be lackluster.

4 Comments

Filed under buyer's guide, food, goals, shopping, Weight Watchers

4 responses to “Scales, Scales, Scales: A Buyer’s Guide

  1. MRH

    May I suggest a third super-useful tool? It’s not exactly a scale, but it does have numbers on it. (I proselytize because I have one myself, pardon the evangelical fervor. )
    Pedometer.
    I got one for Christmas, and I’m a huge fan.
    Why? Because when it comes to things I ought to do but don’t want to do, I’m nowhere near the altruist that I should be.
    Should I take the further-away parking spot rather than search for one right by the door? Yes. Do I? … not really. Kind of not ever.
    Well, not until I have a magic machine on my belt/pocket that makes those extra steps actually “count”.
    I keep the pedometer by the bed with a notebook, and record my steps & mileage before I go to sleep. I haven’t hit the recommended daily 10,000 yet (not even close), but I know that having a recorded number makes my efforts seem more real, which causes me to make more effort. And by more effort, I mean “occasionally walking laps around my bedroom before I go to sleep in order to up my number for the day”.
    Yes, I put more effort into my own life when I can make it more like a videogame. Don’t judge, just help me figure out how to make my health stats hover above my head in multi-colored bar graph form…

    • I’ve been thinking about buying a pedometer for over a year, and this is excellent motivation. Imagine, a numerical reward for parking at the back of a parking lot? I actually do tend to park far from buildings, but that’s mostly because my car has a tendency to put on extensive theatrical performances, and parking at the back of parking lots makes it easier to deal with those experiences.

      What kind of pedometer did you get?

      • MRH

        I got this one.

        Pro — there’s a method in the instructions for calculating your average stride length, which you then set on the device so that it instantly converts your # of steps into mileage

        Con — if you wear it facing out on your waistband, it can get knocked off super easy. My solution is clipping it either on my waistband or on a front pocket with the readout facing in towards my body.

        As soon as I have a hot second, I plan on converting my recorded steps into a graph.

  2. Pingback: Jessamyn’s Macaroni and Cheese Super Bowl- Day One | My Name Is Jessamyn, Not Jasmine

Leave a Reply

