Run For Your Life: The Couch to 5k Running Plan

I’ve always wanted to be a runner. I’ve been watching runners my entire life, and I always think, “How can you be so happy?” Even when exhausted, true runners (DEFINITION: someone who runs for pleasure on the regular, regardless of inclement weather or drinking binges) tend to look totally at one with the universe. They are focusing on consistent breathing, steady pace, and whatever perfect bass beat is narrating their journey.

However, whenever I’m running, I’m usually focused on the growing stitch in my side, shuffling music on my ipod, and trying to catch my breath. In addition, I might be thinking about how clunky my water bottle is in my hand (or, alternately, how thirst is plaguing me as my water bottle remained on my porch because it felt so clunky in my hand.) Also, I’m usually trying to pull up my pants, and/or cursing my old tennis shoes and low cut socks (which are always too holey and NEVER meant for physical exercise.)

I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m sabotaging my ability to become a pleasure runner. I psych myself out by wearing shitty socks and ill fitting pants- then I proceed to act shocked when I can’t catch my breath and my mind is racing from the agony of jogging 500 feet.

I firmly believe this must be some personal version of smoke in mirrors. During 2010, due to a pretty revelatory series of spin classes, I’ve developed a new found love of cycling. Just sitting on my bike seat gets my heart racing with excitement. Why is it so difficult for me to translate my love of cycling to a love of running?

Therefore, I’ve decided to do the Couch to 5k Running Plan. Not only will this plan help me work toward my goal of running a 5k by spring, but it will ease me into running for longer than 20-30 seconds at a time.

In the mean time, I DESPERATELY need to buy new running shoes. Does anyone have any suggestions?

 

4 Comments

Filed under cycling, declaration, goals, spin class

4 responses to “Run For Your Life: The Couch to 5k Running Plan

  1. Hey, it’s interesting to find out that I’m not the only one feeling that I should start running & not feeling up to ‘the part’! I also have decided to start the Couch to 5 K running plan which is suggested by the NHS, but it looks exactly the same to the one you’ve found. I’ve blogged about this yesterday:
    http://littleexplorer.wordpress.com/2011/01/07/a-scary-new-resolution/#comment-127
    I bought a new pair of trainers today – Diadora. I think they are these ones here (they have http://www.diadora.it/it/scheda.html?id=279, but I have no idea whether they’re good or not but I asked advice in the shop and they felt comfortable and they were not too expensive. They told me running shoes need to have

    It would be great if we could keep in touch and support each other to achieve this goal! 🙂

    • Hi! Ooooh, Diadora- those look really nice. I just ordered a new pair of New Balance trainers- oh god, I don’t think I can get away with saying ‘trainers’, do you? 🙂 I should probably just stick with ‘sneakers’.

      It’s literally been years since I purchased a new pair of exercise shoes. It’s kind of ridiculous if I consider how much money I’ve spent on every other kind of shoe, from flip flops to sequin pumps. I’m hoping that by investing in solid exercise clothing, I’ll care about my activity level just as much as I care about my ‘going out’ ensembles. I guess we’ll see how that works out 😉

      And yes, we absolutely MUST keep in touch!

      • 🙂 Maybe ‘sneakers’ is more US and ‘trainers’ is more UK, possible?!

        I actually can’t even remember the last time I purchased a new pair of exercise shoes, you know?? Today I took advantage of the sales and I also bought a swimming costume to start a year without excuses for keeping active!!!

  2. caribbeanmomma

    Hi there! Just stumbled across your blog while tag surfing (recently joined wordpress). I’m chiming in to say that I’ve just ordered a pair of the vibram 5 fingers shoes in slate/lichen. I’m an overpronator but not severely so, so I’m going to give them a try after years of using sneakers and badly twisting my ankle in them and aggravating my plantar fasciitis in my right foot. They say to ease into the running with these shoes and that’s fine with me. I can’t wait for them to arrive!

    Also, I’ve done the couch to 5K last year and before twisting my ankle was able to jog for 30 minutes without stopping so it works! (didn’t think so when I first started though… jogging for 90 seconds was pure torture then!)

    Anyways, good luck and best of luck on your weight loss journey : )

Leave a Reply

