Skincare for Dummies: Jessamyn’s Stages of Beauty Product Review

Before I can review this product, I need to explain something to you.

I am very sensitive about my skin. During my adolescence, I faced quite a bit of humiliation because of its natural dryness. In fact, becoming ‘ashy’ is something most people of color are constantly trying to prevent. Even now, as I approach my mid-twenties, I refuse to leave my apartment without the proper application of skin product. As one might expect, this can be fairly time-consuming. My post-shower prep probably takes me about 15-30 minutes longer than the average person because of my skin regiment. As a result, I am frequently complimented because of the ‘softness’ and ‘cleanness’ of my skin. As much as I’d like to say I rolled out of the cabbage patch with perfect skin, I fear I must admit that my ‘great’ skin is really just the product of horrible childhood memories and paranoia.

That being said, I’m constantly on the look out for products which will help my skin maintain its youthful appearance. To be honest, I don’t mind being mistaken for an 18 year-old- however, I know the day will come when my skin is less forgiving, and I need to be prepared. I’m not really worried about the signs of aging, but I don’t want to look back at my mid-twenties and think ‘Why didn’t I take care myself?

312011 049

Stages of Beauty took note of this quandary and came up with a  truly remarkable concept- create skin care products which speak to the needs of a specific age group. Basically, when I’m in my 30s, 40s, and 50s+, my skin will be different. It will be more mature and it will require more mature products. However, in my 20s, I need a really light cream which can help repair my skin from daily trauma (makeup, wind, sun streaking, etc.)

312011 046

I am always on the lookout for great new products, so you can imagine how stoked I was when the nice folks over at Stages of Beauty asked me to review their Radiance Treatment Cream, crafted specifically for 20 somethings. I’ve been using the cream for about three weeks- our skin is really affected (positively and negatively) by the weather, and the shift from a  blustery Carolina winter to a subtle and warm spring was the perfect opportunity to see what these products could really do for me and my twenty-something readers.

(NOTE: I am not endorsed by Stages of Beauty. If I review a product, I’m giving my real opinion- for better or worse.)

312011 047

PACKAGING- Stages of Beauty is really focused on minimizing their carbon footprint, and this can be noted by the small amount of packaging used in the shipping process. You can’t really tell from this photo, but the box is pretty small and they use paper packing materials as opposed to evil plastic bubbles. I really appreciate this attention to detail, as there are companies (*cough*AMAZON *cough*) that use a ridiculous amount of extraneous packaging in the name of ‘protecting the product’- more like ‘destroying trees unnecessarily’. In addition, the tube which protects the glass bottle inside is really handy when traveling- when I was on my beach adventure last week, I had no trouble bringing the cream with me and it stayed snug as a bug in the tube. This is really important because, when travelling, I usually have to put my beauty and skin care products in additional plastic bags or wrap them in cloth so they don’t break and/or make my clothes smell a Neutrogena display.

SIZE- I admit it: I’m a cheapskate. I blame my frugality on my tight budget- either way, when I make purchases I am frequently forced to choose quantity over quality. For the 20 something sans trust fund, Stages of Beauty is a bit out of my regular purchasing options- the 30 mL bottle costs $52.99. To be fair, if you purchase beauty products at a department store, you will pay similar prices for department store brands (Lancome, Estee Lauder, Clinique, etc). That being said, I’m not so cheap that I can’t understand the benefit of choosing quality over quantity and choosing the best products even if they are expensive/come in a small quantity. However, the steep price could be enough to stop even the most skin-concerned young woman from purchasing this product.

TEXTURE/ODOR- I am still swooning over the texture of this cream. It is SO FREAKING SMOOTH. Seriously, it feels like rubbing fresh goat’s milk into my pores. That might sound awkward but trust me- it’s a great compliment. I usually stick to a really thick cream for my allover body care. However, when you’re wearing makeup or heading out for a busy day, you don’t want to have a thick cream clogging up your face. The texture of this cream is absolutely perfect for everyday wear, and it doesn’t leave a glossy/wet finish like other products I’ve used. It’s perfectly matte, and dries quickly- this is really important if you are going to be wearing any other products, ESPECIALLY makeup. Who likes to blot their skin dry of excess moisture before applying foundation? NOT this girl. In addition, odor is REALLY important to me. I have kind of sensitive skin (if you obsessively read Seventeen magazine as a teen, you know that my skin is technically known as ‘combination’ skin). This means that extra fragrances in skin care products make my toffee colored skin look like bumpy, cherry flavored toffee. And I like my toffee PLAIN, not fruit flavored. Therefore, it’s absolutely imperative that all my skin products be sans odor (except for my favorite face wash- I’ll discuss that later). The Radiance cream is 100% fragrance free and it’s not tested on animals. So my skin won’t turn into cherry flavored toffee, AND monkeys are not deformed as a result of the product manufacturing. Where I come from we call that a win.

FINAL VERDICT? Last week, when I was at my parents’ house, my father commented on the smoothness of my skin. I don’t think you understand the brevity of his statement- he NEVER comments on my skin. That comment, plus the fact that my skin feels smoother than usual and my usual bumpy nose appears to be a thing of the past are all signs that this product is the cat’s meow. I can’t overemphasize how much the price deters me, and will probably deter anyone with a budget. But the quality is very high, and it’s definitely worth the price. I would love to see how this product works on women in other age brackets, and women with different skin conditions. However, for my sensitive skin, Stages of Beauty Radiance treatment cream is the nectar of the gods.

Want to know more? Check out the Stages of Beauty website and tell them Jessamyn sent you. Winking smile

11 Comments

Filed under product review

11 responses to “Skincare for Dummies: Jessamyn’s Stages of Beauty Product Review

  1. You know I love Stages of Beauty, girl! Hope you’re having a great week.

  2. Melissa

    I am trying out the Stages of Beauty – 40 something and so far it is really nice. I have only been using it for a couple of days, love the size of the trial product and the packaging was a huge plus for me as well. No testing on animals is always a bonus, no need to harm a furry one just for my skin thank you.

    As for the product, it is a little thicker than what the 20 something sounds like, but not so thick that I feel like I have a pile of goo between my face and my make up. It soaks in really nice and fast and doesn’t leave an oily/glossy look on my face. I have noticed as I am aging that my skin is starting to have these tiny “little bumps” that the dermatologist calls “Adult Acne” great, didn’t have that as a kid, so I get it now. But I have noticed that this product is helping to clear up those little bumps away evening out my skin tone. I don’t have a lot of “little fine lines” yet – which I am grateful for, but even the ones I do have seemed to have diminished a bit – again I have only been using this product for a few days. I received it last Friday and it is Monday and I am very happy with it so far. The fragrance is very subtle and the texture is nice an creamy and my face is very soft and I don’t have to put a lot on to feel the softness. I haven’t tried the entire line for my age bracket, but I am very curious on the benefits of using all 3 products. I think for the results – the price isn’t too bad, and if you stretch it a little you can get your money’s worth out of it.

  3. Trixie

    I just ordered my free trial of the harmony series…I’m quite excited to receive it & use it and see how well it works for my skin. Hope it delivers! :)
    Great review!! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience….it really helps other consumers out there looking for new products to try & find out the results others have had from using them. Keep up the good work!!

  4. Tommy

    I just used it for the first time and my skin feels amazing, but i just used a 3pump dosage on my face and neck and I got a headache 5minutes later and some aches. but my skin really does feel amazing, I just wish they would tell the ingredients and chemicals illegal or not, I’d like to know what’s up. but my pores and face is very outstanding and soft, the blackheads are not bumpy and seem to be doing some magical things. I’m a male who happened to come across this online. The free sample radiance is what I got. though it’s $4.99 lol =\ but the real product is listed at a very high price. might have to order a bunch of samples under different aliases. My headache just disappeared after typing this 5 minute message

  5. taylor

    Please be aware that when you sign up for the “free” sample. you are enrolling in an AUTO SHIP program. You will receive an automated shipment to the tune of $74 approx. 2 weeks after receiving your free sample!

  6. Rebekka

    The product is great, but they need to be more clear that you need to cancel within 18 days of purchasing the trial offer. I found no mention of it while purchasing it, on the package, or on the invoice. That is kinda seedy.

    And I am all for recycling and caring about trees, but I do want to point out in re to amazon, the EPA passed a law back in the 80’s making it so that all paper and wood products produced in the United States must be made using trees from tree farms. Since the passing of that law, our tree population has grown by more than 50%. So they aren’t exactly wasting away our natural forests for their excessive packaging.

    • Emily

      They have a huge section at the bottom of their page that tells you that you will be entered in the “auto-ship” program, and to cancel in 18 days. Most sites are like that, you have to look at for all the fine-prints on everything now-a-days.

  7. Kristen

    I was just looking for independent reviews for Stages of Beauty because I was so WOWED by the 40s cream that I needed to know if it was just in my head or if others were experiencing good things too.

    I don’t have typical 40s skin and I’ve always taken good care of my skin (good products, stay out of sun, regular facial routine) so I was leery to order my age-appropriate cream because I thought it would be too heavy. I’m also always worried about gimmicks and infomercial products. I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised.

    The cream is very smooth with a great fragrance. It soaks into my skin easily and leaves me feeling very dewey but not greasy at all. In about two weeks, I felt like my skin looked slightly firmer and felt smooth and appropriately moist. I’m really sensitive and I did not have any sort of reaction.

    I just ordered another jar. It’s fantastic. I wish they had a whole array of products now.

    I DO agree that they need to be very clear about the instant reorder process. I was looking for anything to that effect on the site before I tried the free sample and I didn’t see anything….just had a substantial charge on my card!

  8. Lee

    I too ordered a sample of GRACE. I was so pleased with serum, I couldn’t order the whole set fast enough. This company’s terms is stated on their website, just like any other “free sample”. When you sign up for your sample you are also opting in for autoship and need to cancel within a specified time frame. This is no different than any other sample! I personally did not have any problem canceling my autoship and ordering what I wanted. Don’t forget to read the terms on any offer, it will save you headaches down the road. Superior products!

  9. Wow this stuff sounds great!! I have that weird combination/oily/acne prone skin so my skin is constantly giving me grief. As soon as I find something that I think works…. it stops working for me!

Leave a Reply

